The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages today dedicated a plaque at the Timmins Museum, the site of three bronze monuments commemorating Sandy McIntyre, John “Jack” Wilson, and Benny Hollinger.

Minister dedicates plaque

In a letter released at the official unveiling, the Minister noted: “These public sculptures now stand in lasting tribute to the trio whose discoveries led to the founding of the “Big Three” gold mines – and the city of Timmins…On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I would like to thank the Porcupine Prospectors and Developers Association, as well as all the organizers and partners of Timmins’ centennial celebrations, for honouring that legacy.”

Dean Rogers and Robert Calhoun, executive members of the Porcupine Prospectors and Developers Association (PPDA), presented the Minister with “Eureka at River’s Edge”, a limited edition sculpture by Tyler Fauvelle, the artist who created the 7 ft. bronze sculptures. The gift was offered as a token of the PPDA’s appreciation for the Canadian Heritage Department’s important financial contribution to the legacy project.

Sculpture by Tyler Fauvelle
Photo by: Len Gillis, Timmins Times